Life was better when technology was simpler. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

It is often argued that fast electronic devices such as mobile phones and computers have made our life difficult. This essay completely agrees with this statement because too much use of social media on these devices can lead to depression and it causes distraction. Too many people who use websites like Facebook, Instagram get depressed while surfing on the internet. This to say that they see plenty of people getting successful in their lives and they post images of their promotions or weddings and living their lives to the fullest and here they are the people who are struggling in their lives doing nothing. Thus, it leads to anxiety and depression and eventually they have to go to the doctors to put their lives into the right track. For example, I have a cousin who used to use his mobile twelve hours a day and did surfing on the internet, after using two or three years he went into a serious mental problem and we had to take him to a psychiatrist and they prescribed him a tranquillizer. As technology got increased the distractions in our lives also increased. Whenever we try to focus on work or studies our phone rings or sometimes we receive text messages and we get distracted from our work or studies and it eventually lowers our productivity in general. For instance, a report of the New York Times revealed that the overall grades of university students have decreased by 12 per cent since the inception of the smartphones. In conclusion, it is often said that people lived a peaceful life when technology was not fast enough as these days they are. I agree with this statement because they did not have to face distraction and they did not get to see a lot of people getting successful in their lives so they did not get depressed.