The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, many people have given their personal information to online companies. While acquiring these data by multi online corporations have been regarded as a disadvantage, I would disagree with this statement because it helps them to identify the needs of people based on this information. One of the drawbacks of this trend is the peril of cyberattack. This is because some companies have failed in protecting their user's information from hackers. For example, Facebook was attacked by hackers from Russia in 2015,and they steal millions of data because they found a gap in Facebook's security. As a result, people felt so concerned about their privacy and started questioning whether the large internet companies are keen on providing solid protection for their customers or collecting more information about them. On the other hand, the most significant advantage of this trend is meeting the expectation of clients. Customers have often set up a higher expectation when they gave permission to online businesses on using their information for marketing purposes. They expect them to develop products or services that match their desires and interests. To illustrate this, Apple often uses the data of its subscribers to update its software in order to correct any mistake that might affect the performance of its devices. To sum up, Despite the drawback of holding personal data of users by internet companies such as security breach, we must take into consideration of creating products and services that fulfil people's needs. In my view, I would agree that the advantages outweigh the downsides.