Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think that is? What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

Art plays a vital role in almost all cultures worldwide. However, over the years, people's interest in pursuing arts has been lessening. There are many reasons for this trend and one of the most important reasons being a lot of people moving into the field of science, technology and economics. In this essay, I will be addressing the key factors that force people to move away from arts and also suggest a few measures that can be taken for the same. Firstly, in today's world, money is considered as one of the most important aspects of living a happy life. Unlike arts, the field of science and technology has provided innumerate job opportunities to the extent that even a mediocre student can get a job with some efforts and earn a livelihood. Back in the days of the kings and queens, artists were on-demand and appreciated for their art forms and also rewarded for their art and this was not just restricted to music and dance but even arts like handicrafts and pottery were highly valued. However, nowadays, the conditions have reversed. Such art forms are either presented in art shows or are a luxury for the few rich that exists which has drastically reduced the demand from the market. This being known, many parents do not encourage their children to choose arts because of the lower job prospects. Another reason for the decline in population pursuing arts is the opportunities in the market to display their talents. People are so busy in their mundane lives that the entire day is lost in office, travelling and then Netflix is the final resort to relax back at home. Hardly do people have the time to visit shows and this has led to the show organizers not being able to do the shows which has in turn drastically reduced the opportunities for budding and talented artisan to show their skills. This is the other main cause, I believe, for the loss of focus in arts. Indeed, this is not a very difficult problem to solve but with support of the government, especially this situation can be controlled. For example, the world-famous Korean boy-band BTS who have moved beyond language barriers and made a name globally and are on their path to win the Grammys. Korea encourages students to pick an elective right from the time they start schools and these are primarily subjects like dance, music, handicrafts etc. This makes the children understand their interests right from their childhood and not just study the subjects for the sake of studying. Another major step taken by Korea to support their artists is to delay the mandatory military service and this is a huge step in the history of the country which made a statement and assured the government's support for art. Today, Korea's major revenue comes from BTS. Such initiatives like inculcating arts from the school, providing patronage for art and also creating job opportunities can undeniably increase the interest of nation in arts and also help in enriching and preserving the culture. In conclusion, I would say that colossal and industrious efforts are required to restore the prestige of the arts. The government has to take a step in this direction and create a demand for art to encourage artists and preserve our rich cultural heritage.