Prison is the common way in most countries try to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

For many centuries now, prisons have been one of the major known outcomes for most of the crimes globally. It has been a long time that there have been heated arguments and discussions on how to reduce crime in the society. The discussion vacillates between whether education or imprisonment can help in reducing crime rates. The advocates of education believe that it can help people realize their actions and its implications and help in curbing crime rates whereas the opponents categorically opine that nothing other than the harsh treatment in prison can help bring a change in the offenders. However, I believe that education can contribute to reducing the crime rates because when I recall the last couple of decades, it reminds me of the fact that the crime rates have decreased and this is linked to the fact that the literacy percentage globally has seen a rise in the same time. Many governments globally made it easy for parents to educate their children through different means like scholarships and free government schools which has ensured that more and more children are being educated. Undeniably, education has the power to teach us a plethora of things which can help us be good human beings and add value to society in addition to addressing the problem of poverty. For example, from their first day in school, kids are taught manners as tiny as respecting elders and not littering around which imbibe deeply in their mind and help them in the long run especially to distinguish between what is right and what is wrong and its impact in the society. This, I believe, has played a key role in reducing the crime rates for some very common activities like stealing and kidnapping because the offenders now are aware of the consequences of their actions which is being taught to them even before they are high schoolers. Another main reason for the common criminal activities is poverty which again is taken care by educating the kids as they are capable to make a living by doing odd jobs even if they have been to school for a few years. As of today, most of the prisons make the prisoners do heavy jobs as a part of their punishment. Some prisons have now started plugging in education for these prisoners during their time in prison can help them understand the rules and norms of the society and learn things they like and live a better life once they are released. To exemplify, in a small city in India, a celebrity was imprisoned for use of drugs. This celebrity had the connections and was able to start a radio show in the prison from which he taught his fellow prisoners of how to operate restaurants. Most of these prisoners opened their own restaurant post-release and lived a better life. Such programs when structured in a better manner can help the offenders to reflect on their past mistakes and live a better future which should be the main goal of imprisonment. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate the fact that education in different forms should be inculcated in the lives of people including the prisoners and this if done in the right way can help in reducing crime rates as well as helping prisoners live a better life.