In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Life expectancy is being increased in the developed countries, this definitely causing many problems to individuals and the community. This essay will first explain the problems and then possible solutions; followed by a reasoned conclusion. To begin with, everyone wants to live a long and healthy life; however, this phenomenon causing many problems to the system. Firstly, there is a huge gap between the age group of the working-class and retired class. Thus, govt has very little workforce available to run the social cycle. On the other hand, there are many retired people who depend on subsidies and pensions. Therefore, this situation put a huge negative impact on the economy of the country. Moreover, these countries need to run many immigration programs to balance their young population. For instance, as per the data available by the Immigration Department of Canada, the government is going to provide work visas to 4 million people in 2021 to fulfil their vacancies. Every problem has a solution; therefore, this issue can be addressed with little efforts. First and foremost, the government need to run an awareness program for the working class to have their first child in early thirties, this will help to reduce the age gap between working and retired class. Additionally, the immigration system should lower down their acceptance criteria of the foreign nationals, this will help to fill the immediate vacancies. For example, as per the data available by the National Labor department of Canada, the government requires 1 million people to immediately fill the vacancies in various fields but it is being delayed due to the tough acceptance criteria. To conclude, increasing life expectancy is definitely a big problem for the developed nations but few immediate measures can control the situation before it becoming a nightmare.