Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or disadvantages?

It has become common to see employees working extra hours to increase their wage. In order to do that, they sacrifice leisure time. I believe this situation is extremely negative to both workers and companies. This essay will present what are the drawbacks of working more and having fewer leisure moments. To begin with, I think having leisure time and activities is a need. In other words, employees need to spend time with friends and family because it brings a variety of benefits. For example, leisure time spent with family can strength families ties. In addition, leisure activities have also advantages concerning productivity. Therefore, workers that do not deny their spare time, produce more in their jobs. Furthermore, there is an association between leisure and happiness. According to some leisure experts, the more people have leisure time, the happier they are. This is because we do in our leisure moments the kind of activities that makes us happier, and generally, with people that are important for us. Finally, people usually practice some sports and physical activities during their leisure moments. To illustrate, practising sports is the main leisure activity done by Brazilians during their spare time. As a result, at the same time that they are having fun, they are improving their health. To sum up, considering the arguments aforementioned, I believe leisure activities is necessary for all workers. Leisure can increase both happiness, productivity and health. That being said, I suggest that companies do not allow employees to work long hours without having leisure time.