Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do so many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

It has been observed that people spend more time in the office and afflict their health by ignoring the importance of performing physical activities. It happens due to many reasons which are discussed in the subsequent paragraphs followed by the solutions to resolve them. To begin with, there are myriad reasons for the sedentary lifestyle of the working class. First and foremost, It is the commitment of the companies to the clients for completing work in a short period that employees spend more time in the office. In these scenarios, in order to finish the tasks within the deadline, an employee often fails to sustain the work -life balance and does not get sufficient time to exercise. This problem is witnessed in many companies with poor work culture especially the startups, where the strength of the employees is less and one person perform extra work by spending more time in office. Yet another reason for ignoring physical health is the ambition of getting appraisals and incentives. It is generally seen that working people work overtime apart from the normal hours to earn extra income owing to which working out in the free time takes back seat. Not only this, due to poor management of the employees, they fail to complete the task well in time,and thus, get negligible time for a workout. For example, some employees waste enough time in gossiping in the office which leads to spending evening hours in the office to complete the tasks, thereby afflicting their health by not burning any calorie in the evening. Fortunately, this issue can be resolved by the joint efforts of both the government and employers. First of all, the government should make people aware of the consequences of poor health which can encourage them to do exercise. This can be done by organising campaigns and broadcasting information through mass media. Furthermore, employers ought to implement the policies which can restrict the office hours so that employees have enough spare time to work out. To cite an example, a multinational company named Siena have installed timers in the computers which automatically switched off the system by the end of the working hours. Such steps can help employees by providing enough time to hit the gym in the evenings. To conclude, for the sake of earning more, people seem to overlook the necessity of maintaining physical heath which is leading to many diseases. However, it is possible to tackle this issue if the government and organisations take proactive steps to make the public aware of this grave concern.