In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

All around the world more and more people use mobile phones with preinstalled specific applications or services like Apple Pay or Google Pay. These applications alleviate, amend and simplify our experience of exchange money between each other, pay our bills and do shopping. It means that cash goes on a second plan and becomes not so important as it was before. Is this tendency negative or positive? In this essay I would like to review the key advantages and disadvantages of it. The biggest disadvantage of mobile payments is that sometimes people fully rely only on these services and forgetting that in many places there might be internet connection problems, so they will not be able to pay. There were several situations when by some reason the application could not connect to a server, so I should have found another way to pay. Secondly, security issues may break all your positive experience. There are a lot of frauds on the internet which can get access to your account and take all your money. Unfortunately, nowadays, more and more people feel that their data is vulnerable and unprotected. Each day we hear news about the data leak issues from top IT companies. However, there are a lot of advantages of mobile payment. For example, there is no longer needed to take a wallet everywhere, so minus one thing to worry about and more space in pockets. Moreover, in Covid-19 period there is a great importance of these apps because it’s highly not recommended to use cash as it leads to personal contact and there are a lot of microbes on a paper and you can easily catch some disease, maybe even worth than Covid-19. To summarize, as any contradictory question there are pros and cons of using mobile services for payment. However, progress moves us forward and we need to adapt and get used to the new technologies with their advantages and disadvantages.