In some countries, there are fewer young people who listen to or play classical music these days. Why is this? Should young people be encouraged to play or perform classical music?

In the current generation, compassion towards classical music has become very less, in most of the countries. There are several reasons depending on the demographics of the country, in this essay we will discuss the issue behind this context and also look into the importance of retaining the art of our ancestors. Firstly, the reason behind less popularity for classical music among the younger generation is, they prefer listening to new music streams of the current era like Pop music, techno, etc. Secondly, they lack the knowledge or education of classical art music. For instance, Most of the young people prefer to learn guitar or piano over harmonium or veena (Famous music instruments used in classical music). And lastly, the old music forms lack awareness or they are not being promoted. So, this is also one of the important reason why millennials don’t listen or play classical music. Young people should be encouraged to gain knowledge of classical music. By doing this, they will come to know, how actually the music evolved over the years and their impact in the field of music. The parents, teachers and professionals will be playing important role in achieving this. This will also help in spreading the culture and values of one’s country. In conclusion, classical music has been the heart and soul of the music world and to keep this alive, we need to promote and make the people of today’s generation understand the importance. However, the chain of awareness should not end here, this message should be passed on until the last existence.