Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both of these views and give your opinion.

In today's world, some languages might disappear due to the fact that an extremely small number of people use them in their daily life. Firstly, this essay will discuss whether the government should use the country's budget to solve this problem and, secondly, it will analyse why it might be a waste of money. On the one hand, the case that some languages are in danger of extinction may be a huge problem since it is likely to lead to the disappearance of a heritage of a certain country. Because of this authorities have to take money from the budget and invest them in an organisation or educational institutions that will teach this language. As a result, more people are likely to practise a language and, therefore, it will continue to exist. For example, in Ukraine,all subjects are taught in Ukrainian in order to encourage students to speak their mother language since the major part of the population prefers the Russian language. However, on the other hand, it might be a significant waste of money and might lead to large costs for the economy. This is due to the fact that the government will introduce new schemes it is likely not to influence the preferences of citizens. Hence, a country's budget that could be used on the development of health care might be wasted. For instance, although, in Belarussian schools,everything is taught using their native language almost all residents speak Russian in their daily life. To conclude, despite the fact that there is a problem with the extinction of some languages, in my opinion,government intervention and spending is likely to be a waste of cash. This is because people's preferences in the regard to language might not be affected by these schemes.