As a result of electronic inventions such as the computer and television, people do less physical activity, and this is having a negative effect on their health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we are in the fourth industrial revolution in which people usually use modern forms of communication. While this might harm people’s physical health to several extents, I still believe that the advantages do outweigh the disadvantages. The main drawback of electronic tools is that people become less physically active due to excessive time spent on such inventions. In the workplace, employees are expected to sit down and work almost without breaks in front of the computer’s screen over a long period. This repeated action daily can progressively lead to impaired physical mobility or a dangerously increased chance of fatal diseases such as diabetes or stroke. This can also be an adverse impact on the whole community in the long term, as we will possibly see an increasing number of patients in hospitals suffering from these poor health conditions. Despite the negatives mentioned above, I believe that these inventions are bringing us more merits than demerits. Firstly, they allow an individual to communicate and keep in touch with his family, relatives, and friends, thus reinforce the relationship among them. Secondly, people can be informed about what is happening around the globe, especially those living in remote areas like islands or deserts, simply by turning on a television. For instance, if a man chose to live in the isolated countryside, his life would be in huge trouble and tedious as a consequence of the absence of such electronic devices. Furthermore, inventions like the computer offer a great opportunity for numerous young students to complete lots of online University courses with no need of attending face-to-face classes. In conclusion, although I recognize many potential dangers of electronically operated devices, it appears that these inventions are more beneficial to a human being in terms of communication and long-distance study.