Some people think that products should be made to last as long as possible, while others think making the products cheap is more important. Discuss both views and express your own opinion.

When buying a product, we constantly weigh up price versus quality. While some feel that durability should be the main priority, others argue that affordability is more important. In this essay, I will examine both views and explain why I feel that companies and customers need to make responsible decisions. Those who prioritise durability features argue that if commodities lasted longer, waste could be reduced. Indeed, it is obvious that as products have become almost disposable, the amount of landfill is growing. Most people, for instance, buy a new phone every two to three years regardless of need. This throw-away mentality drives more production which also contributes to environmental damage through raw material extraction, factory emissions, transportation and packaging. If we only bought one mobile phone per decade instead, we could dramatically reduce that impact. For others, lower prices are more important than quality. Indeed, compared to fifty years ago, the range of commercially manufactured articles on the market is bigger and the prices are much more affordable. A computer, for example, used to cost several thousand dollars, but now it is possible to buy one for under $300. Therefore means that more people have access to such items, which means greater equality and opportunity, particularly when it comes to commodities such as cars and electronics. Personally, I feel the best way forward is for both businesses and consumers to think carefully about their choices. For companies, consideration must be given to sustainable and ethical practices. Rather than producing a range of poorly made cheap clothing that will not last more than a season, it would be better to invest a little more in quality materials and workmanship. That said, it is then up to the consumer to reward those enterprises that step up. They too should seek out companies that demonstrate best practice rather than simply opt for the lowest price. In conclusion, the battle between durability and affordability is always going to exist. In order to strike a balance that minimises environmental impact and allows the entire society access to products, corporations and individuals need to use their judgement.