In many countries, people are living in a “throwaway society” where things are used for a short time and thrown away. What are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to?

In this contemporary epoch, the fast-paced world is changing rapidly and a plethora of options are available for any kind of product that humans can think of. In addition to that, the preserving nature of the elderlies is replaced by the "use and throw" attitude of the juveniles. Along with being a burden on breadwinners, these practices have led to the exploitation of natural resources and contributed to environmental waste. This essay details the precursors of this lifestyle and the complications arising due to this in the subsequent paragraphs. Firstly, a lot of factors contribute to the short term usage of things like technological innovations which has drastically reduced the cost of products. Moreover, abundant options are available for any product which keeps on improving frequently due to the market competition. To illustrate this, consider an example of mobile phones, nowadays, even the same company launches new mobile phone every month, when combined with the number of companies available all over the world, people are overwhelmed with the available options and new choices keep on piling up. Thus, people might upgrade to latest products due to peer pressure or maintaining their status symbol. This has opened the door to a bunch of issues which impact the world at large. The natural resources are depleting at an alarming rate and the waste generation is increasing exponentially. On the other front, this is further increasing the gap between different economic classes, people are coerced into keeping up with the market trends, and those who fail to do so might suffer from health problems such as inferiority complex, asocial behaviour or depression. Thus, the trend started by rich and influential burns the pocket of a common man and leads to increased stress levels. To summarize, technology and innovations in all aspects of life have led to the mindset where people use things for a short duration and then discard those in the quest of better options. It is high time that societies should be educated about the correct usage of things and made aware of the detrimental effects of not doing so.