Computer games is very popular in all ages and nations. Parent think it has little educational Value and more harmful effects. What is your opinion about this? Give example based on your own experience.

With the advance of technology computer games' popularity started to skyrocket. However, some controversy remains regarding this matter. Parents might argue that negative side-effects may derive from playing and that it is just a waste of time. As a gamer myself I will present a strong contrary point, explaining why they help us to develop important skills and strengthen our social relationships. Firstly, videogames frequently present a person with numerous puzzles, challenges and all sorts of situations. These aspects allow us to develop strong critical thinking skills which come to be of help in real-life situations as well. By having faced several challenges before, a person can feel more confident and prepared to face actual hardships during life. Secondly, playing creates a perfect environment to practice a new language. As a native Portuguese speaker, they had a crucial part in helping me gain vocabulary in English and Spanish. PC games not only help to develop skills as explained above but let us also consider the social aspect that they present. Many of the modern ones are connected to the internet, thus allowing players to communicate with people all over the world. The social interaction in this kind of environment is certainly positive because it helps to develop aspects like teamwork, communication and leadership, which can be very handy later on in life. Aside from that, playing has become something so common nowadays that those who do not engage in this activity can often feel excluded. For example, a child that has no access to these entertainment titles might feel left out from their friends' circle due to the lack of common topics to chat about. In conclusion, computer games are a valuable resource as a means for personal development, entertainment and strengthening of social bonds. Therefore, they should not be seen as having negative aspects or even useless. After the analysis presented on this essay parents should start to understand better these benefits and adapt to our current times as quickly as possible because videogames are definitely coming to stay.