In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects. Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

In many parts of the world, overseas trips account for a significant proportion of their national income. However, there are also concerns about its disadvantages. Personally, I am inclined to the view that the demerits of the growth of global tourism outweigh the advantages. To begin with, the tourist business heavily depends on economic situations and diplomatic relations, so a constant income cannot be assured. We have seen that the tourism of a country has affected when the global economy became slightly worse or the relationship between countries was damaged. Therefore, nations who rely on their tourist attractions for earning money cannot deal with the change in situations, such as a conflict between countries or economic recession. Also, the more travellers visit a country, the more difficult it is for it to protect their monuments, cultural assets from tourists. For example, the pyramids in Egypt, which is one of the greatest architectures in the world has been damaged by thoughtless tourists. In contrasts, through the tourism industry, developing countries where pristine nature is preserved may gain enormous income and provide their citizens with many jobs. Because once countries attract visitors from foreign countries, there must be an increase in demands for accommodation, restaurants, and transportation. To operate these facilities, manpower is needed, and the public can be provided with the jobs. Consequently, when holidaymakers spend money on using them in the country, a foundation of further development for the nations where financial resources to industrialise themselves are yet insufficient. In conclusion, there are some advantages and demerits of global tourism. Therefore, I think the disadvantages of it outweigh the merits.