When you learn a foreign language, all four skills (listening, reading, speaking, and writing) are equally important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few topics have drawn as much scholarly attention as the importance of all four skills in learning a foreign language. Some people believe that listening, reading, speaking and writing will play an equal role in learning a new language while others oppose that statement. This essay will discuss why I feel the importance of listening and speaking outdo the significance of writing and reading when learning a foreign language is concerned. Primarily, by learning a new language, one can enjoy the expression of thoughts in different ways and can improve their problem-solving skills. Learning any language can be possible by listening, reading, speaking and writing that particular language and people can use these skills to express their thoughts. On one hand, with the four skills of language, one can access information in that language in any format. On the other, learning writing and reading is more difficult than learning to speak and listen. There are many reasons why this is happening. The primary one stems from the fact that the human brain needs more practice to learn how to write or to read than listening and speaking. This makes learning those two skills are extremely difficult than remaining. Admittedly, it is true that writing and reading are important in academics and one can not dismiss the fact that speaking and listening are more important in general communication. When learning any foreign language, the primary expression of thoughts is through speaking and listening to others. These two skills are enough to feel comfortable with any language. Besides, listening plays a key role than any other skills in learning a language. For example, infants start learning a language by listening to their parents and by imitating the sounds created when others are talking. In conclusion, I would not wish to underestimate the importance of reading and writing skills of a language. Nevertheless, I feel that the importance of listening and speaking in learning a language and communicating in that language is far greater than the other two skills.