In many countries, children are getting fatter and less fit day by day. Why is it so and suggest solutions?

In today's world, the main problem in the regard to children is health problems, namely obesity and excess weight. Firstly, this essay will discuss the harmful impact of junk food as the main reason for this problem and, secondly, it will analyse how it can be overcome using government intervention. To begin with, on the one hand, the majority of youngsters suffer from obesity since approximately all advertising campaigns are focused on the marketing of junk food and other unhealthy products. Therefore, not only does the young generation have open access to all these advertisements but, moreover, they are the most vulnerable to the impact of media. As a result, due to a high level of influence of the internet children are getting fatter while eating unhealthy meals and, furthermore, they are not motivated to do sports and other physical activities that, in turn, might balance their health. For example, a recent study has shown that more than 50% of all promotion videos consist of junk snacks, sweets and other similar nutrition. However, on the other hand, this issue can be solved by government intervention such as the ban on advertisements of unhealthy nutrition during the time when youngsters usually watch TV channels. This is because if there is not any marketing of these products young people are not likely to be encouraged to buy this food. Hence, statistics which represent the number of children suffering from excess weight is likely to experience a downward trend. For instance, in Ukraine, this type of promotion can be presented only before lunchtime and late in the evening and, hence,the young population does not have access to these advertisements. Finally, to conclude, the main reason why younger part of the society has health problems such as obesity is that their surrounding always increases their interest and awareness about fast-food. Despite this fact, the problem could be overcome if the authorities introduce some measures and restrictions on this type of promotion.