The first man to walk on the moon claimed it was a step forward for mankind. However, it has made little difference in most people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recalling the last couple of decades reminds me of the heated discussions on the hefty budget allocated and spent on space explorations in several countries across the globe. The discussions vacillate between whether the money should be spent on galactic studies or on the indispensable concerns at hand that need immediate attention and redressal. I outrightly support the latter view and I will shed some light with the valid standpoints on the same. Firstly, the most intimidating issue at hand, throughout the world is Global Warming that needs concrete actions to be controlled. Moreover, to achieve this, the government needs to allocate funds in the research, production and supply of green products. Secondly, it is claimed that the consumable water, if not reused and recycled properly, will not last for the next 50 years. Indeed, this is a pressing concern that needs the development of technologies for judicious use and reuse of water. Undeniably, for us and for the generations ahead to survive on the earth, solving for these critical issues and directing money towards them holds priority. In addition to the above worldwide concerns, there are local issues as well. One of the preponderant issues in almost all the developing countries is the inability of a major chunk of the population to obtain basic necessities like food, education and health care services. Furthermore, heavy investment is required to ensure that people are employed and pertinent opportunities are created for the same. For example, 78% of the population in India is deprived of earning a daily wage due to the lack of education and then the extreme competition arising from the scarce job opportunities that open up. In conclusion, I would reiterate my view that there are many intense issues that the world is facing which directly impact us,humans. Indeed the priority of addressing these concerns outweighs the idea of fulfilling our curiosity associated with the outer space.