GOVERNMENTS GIVE A LOT OF SUPPORT TO ARTISTS, EVEN THOUGH SOME PEOPLE THINK IT IS A WASTE OF MONEY THAT COULD HAVE BEEN USED ELSEWHERE. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

Some argue that nations use large amounts of their budgets supporting art. While others say that spending high amounts of money in that might be useless and we should better use that fraction of the GDP to improve other fields, such as science or health. I believe that art is one of the most important things than we can have as humans, giving us such big things as beauty, emotion and reinforcement of our culture. On the one hand, it is believed that there is a lack of utility in art because we cannot see direct effects on society by its use, such the ones we could see through technology or medicine. However, I believe that art can provide people with such a bigger benefit in their lives, because there are no many ways to feed our existential needs, which cannot be satisfied by technology, engineering or science. For example, enjoying art can make us feel emotion valuing the beauty. Also, art gives us part of our identity thorough culture and history. In the other hand, it is thought that artists play an important role in our cultures, giving the fact that? they are the vehicles to show humanity the existence of art. Without a budget, those artists would not be able to grow in their field and society would lose that part of its culture. I believe that part of the GDP must be used in order to stimulate art in all its ways, because, where would we be if we did not have art in our lives throughout the whole history of humanity? In conclusion, although there are more things important in a society with even more direct and tangible benefits, art also should be, if possible, a priority for every nation that values its culture.