Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I concur with the school of thought that opines that the onus of protecting our environment rests on lawmakers as opposed to citizens because the people do not have power enough to make any real difference without the influence of leaders. In this essay, I will highlight the reasons why I believe this. Firstly, in order to ensure good environmental practices, there have to already be stipulated laws of the land that society needs to follow. In other words, the root solution for climate degradation should be reflected in our policies. For instance, many countries have put a ban on single-use plastics. Fines have been imposed on offenders. Another example is to put a cap on carbon emissions that industries under their jurisdiction produce. This helps to put the population in check so that they do the right thing. Secondly, every government has an agency or ministry which have the primary responsibility of putting things in place to help with good environmental practices. These practices need funds to be put in place. This money cannot and should not be crowdfunded at the behest of citizens. This is because money is already being made available from the taxes that we pay. This money is used to provide good waste disposal systems and every other thing that may be needed to make the air safer. In conclusion, I strongly agree that our leaders are first responsible for protecting our environment and then we the public support by following already set down rules.