Some people argue capital punishment is a brutal decision and should be abolished. Do you agree or disagree?

Death sentence has been an active method of punishment for many decades which has been a popular discussion topic among the public as a cruel way of punishment. Although most individuals protest that this needs to be withdrawn quickly, some people still argue that it is a way to minimise future occurrences of such crimes. This essay will agree why the death sentence should be in place to make a better society for every one of us. Firstly, the decision to take the life of another person is not ethically recommended for anybody who has to take the decision. For example, the law for death sentence was silent for many years in Sri Lanka and it was brought back last year to punish a notorious criminal who wouldn't stop any of the crimes even after years of imprisonment. The question was if the convict was really an innocent who was framed due to less evidence blinding the eye of the law. Many human rights societies raised against it to stop this kind of retribution consequently bringing this decision to an end. Secondly, having the death penalty also has a substantial outcome which prevents other people from committing the same crime over again. In fact, after the execution of a serial killer, studies have shown that the rate of murder happens has drastically decreased. For example, India now has lower rape cases after the execution of two rapists which was broadcasted live on public television. Having this kind of law is necessary to keep society in a better place. To conclude, although some individuals are against capital punishment, it is necessary to have it in place to reduce and have control over the crime rate in the country. It is the government's responsibility to maintain and spread awareness of the consequences of this kind of an inhuman act.