Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for a country, while some think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion

It is often argued that organizing a sporting event of international reputation is not good for a country. While many people believe it is bad, I think hosting such events always work in the favour of a nation. This essay would discuss both these views and provide an effective conclusion. On the one hand, an international event or sport brings income for a country. Moreover, fame and reputation from the organisation of such events are massive. More and more tourists would visit the country to watch these games, which would add additional income to the GDP of a nation, as well as the word of mouth about the country when they go back. For example, an article published in the Daily Mirror, a national daily in India, showed after the completion of the Indian Premier League in the UAE, the businesses flourished in Dubai in spite of the covid-19 pandemic. On the other hand, some people believe that conducting big sporting events have a adverse effect on the environment. Sometimes many farmlands have to be cleared to make stadiums of international reputation. In addition, with the large influx of people to the cities during the events, there would be pollution everywhere, however, this can be minimised if the government takes adequate steps beforehand, such as building stadiums away from cities in barren lands. For instance, Qatar, the oil giant, organizing the 2023 Olympics, built most of the playgrounds in the desert far from the capital, Doha, and thus reducing the pollution and the harm on the environment. To conclude, International sports competition damages the environment considerably, however, the problem can be solved with proactive steps. I believe such events are always good for a state to rise in fame, raise money, and flourishing business