Influence of human beings on the world's ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of bio-diversity. What are the primary causes of loss of bio-diversity? What solutions can you suggest?

Man's quest to explore the world and gain new lands and territories affects other living things negatively. Owing to this, lots of plants and animals that used to exist hundreds of years ago are no longer in existence. This essay will discuss the loss of these living things and in addition, ways we can help curb it. Firstly, to cater to our teeming population, man has had to provide more and more shelter over the years. As a result of this, trees have had to be felled to provide for land to build on, also waterlogged places have had to be landfilled for the same reason. Many a plant, animal and insects have gone extinct because their natural habitats have been destroyed by humans. In my opinion, a way to solve this problem and prevent future happenings like this, we need to take population control more seriously. With controlling the populace, the number of houses that are already available will be enough. Because of this, we would not need to destroy or alter any more habitats and thus save and preserve our bio-diversity. Secondly, another cause of the decline in the diversity of living beings is the ever-increasing pollution that has caused a global climate change. Pollution from industries, carbon emissions from our vehicles, plastics that we use that are non-biodegradable have caused a lot of harm for our environment and the species that interact with it. Due to this, the toxins in the air, land and water have made it difficult for species to survive. We are in a dire situation with climate change all around us, we have realised this and we are working on various mitigation factors. These include, reducing our carbon footprints, removing toxins from the by-products from industries before they are disposed of. We need more countries to ban single-use plastics and also promote proper waste disposal methods. In conclusion, as human beings, the way we interact with one another and our eco-system has been detrimental to other living things we share the earth with. Our increasing populace and pollution of the environment have made it unsafe for non-humans to survive. We have lost a number of them, nonetheless, we can take a step back and consciously develop habits to preserve the ones we still have.