Space exploration costs taxpayers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

One of the most significant budget lines in terms of annual expedentures is space exploration, a field that, albeit considered beneficial due to its positive effect on global communications, is also criticised for drawing substantial amounts of money that could have beed used on healthcase health case instead. This essay will discuss both the advantages and downsides of investment in astronautics, before reaching a reasonable conclusion. To begin, it is commonly agreed that continuous investments in space exploration have led to a significant leap in the development of technologies, specifically the ones related to networks and global communications. To illustrate this, a recent research conducted by NASA has indicated an 80% increase in satellite coverage compared to 2010, when only one third of the Earth surface had an uninterruptable access to the space -based network. For this reason, consumers, including those related to various industries, gain equal access to communications regardless of their present location and available landline infrastructure. As a consequence, not only does this technology simplify the means of intercation with distant regions, but it also serves as a catalyst for economic growth which clearly requires developed networks. This being the case, it is not unreasonable to assume that if less budget had been secured for space exploration, our civilization would have never achieved its current progress in communications. Nevertheless, despite all the benefits, there are certain drawbacks of distributing significant amounts of the taxpayers' money to space exploration instead of social programs such as healthcare. For instance, it has been calculated by the World Bank experts that the expences necessary for a single spaceship launch are roughly equal to the costs of building a state-of-the-art hospital fitted with modern equipment. The effects of the aforementioned unbalanced budget are especially clear in spite of the COVID-19 pandemic, as the availability of medicine has drastically decreased over the last year. Therefore, given the circumstances that have arisen lately, it is evident that space exploration programs could be seen by some as a hazard rather than a benefit. In conclusion, space exploration is a disputable topic in terms of expences, as the positive effect it has on communications is negated by the amount of budget money required for astronautics, and it is debated whether this money should be redirected to healthcare programs instead. However, the scientific discoveries that have been already made due to space research clearly serve as an evidence of its necessity to present and future generations.