These days, the wealhty in society often throw away perfectly good products in order to replace them with more up-to-date models. Do the environmental disadvantages of this development outweigh the economic advantages?

In recent times, throwing away products that still work due to the desire to replace them to new releases has become a trend in wealthy societies. In my view, the disadvantages regarding environmental issues, such as air and water pollution, outbalance the economic advantages. There are many disadvantages concerning nature when we talk about discarding some products. When the disposal of electronic gadgets is done without certain precautions, it may affect the life in rivers, since they contain batteries and other features made with chemical elements that can toxify the water. In addition, the constant destruction of garbage helps to increase the Greenhouse Effect as in this process, many toxic substancies are released in the atmosphere, which leads to polluted air and its side-effects. Conversely, there are some economic benefits from consumers buying the latest models of products. As soon as societies tend to acquire the new releases, these markets stay on the radar of big brands. As a result, theses markets are prioritized on the distribution, leading to more lucrative numbers in the national stores. Furthermore, this consumption can provide more job opportunities. Since bigger demands on a specific market may require local manufacturing, it helps to generate more employment opportunities both in factories and local sellers. In conclusion, people are eager to buy the latest models of products as a way to show their wealth while they throw useful items away. Even though this practice has its economic benefits, such as increasing many companies’ profits and creating jobs, I believe that the drawbacks related to environmental issues, resulting from the pollution of rivers and the atmosphere, outweigh these advantages.