Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The educational system is not only composed by academic and acknowledgement responsibilities but also by activities related to sports and social interaction. Part of the population defends that more money should be spent on the academical structure of learning; while others claim that the balance among those activities should be prioritized. I would side with those who support the necessity of balancing the investments equally because it would increase the success rate of a student in his future career. On the one hand, supporters of prioritizing investments in academic activities say that technical acknowledgement can increase the possibility of acquiring a better position in the extremely competitive labour market that students face when finishing studies. Furthermore, focussing in creating more structure to allow students to develop technical abilities, such as libraries with advanced computers and rare books or laboratory classes which students could implement what they have been seeing in class can create in them the interest in research, which can lead to new discoveries in the future. On the other hand, the benefits of investing more on academical activities pale in comparison to the cost of mental diseases that students face if deprived of sports or social activities. For instance, the University of Alberta published a study that compared students who were only focussed in technical development with a group who shared almost fifty per cent of their time with leisure, sports and group activities. The group which were only focussed in technical studies were more likely to develop depression and anxiety, because they could not use the benefits of alleviating stress with side activities. To conclude, although some benefits could be related to prioritizing the use of resources and destinate them to classes and libraries improvements, I believe that balancing investments and supporting different areas such as sports and social activities could generate better results for academicals.