Some people think new homes need to be built with private outdoor space such as a garden, yard, or balcony. Do you think this is more advantageous or more disadvantageous?

In this contemporary epoch, younger generations tend to live separately from their bloodline on account of numerous reasons like independence, career and so on. Owing to this paradigm shift, buying their own home is one of the primary goals for many youths and has culminated in a boom of real estate in various developing countries. This has led to the argument whether these newer constructions should be compact or spacious including amenities such as a garden or balcony. I believe that the mindset of having these amenities is highly advantageous with few minor drawbacks which can be conquered with thoughtful efforts and this essay will shed light on the valid standpoints for this claim. The proponents of this notion think strongly advocate that private outdoor space has notable merits. Firstly, a garden or balcony means a private green space which homeowners can utilize to grow a variety of plants according to their preferences ranging from organic vegetation to aesthetic beauties. Secondly, they can utilize these additional spaces for having small parties with their kith and kin. These upsides clearly depict the importance of having outdoor space at our disposal. On the other hand, the opponents of this discussion believe that these luxuries can only be afforded by the rich and are a hit to the common man's budget who wants to purchase a place for living. Moreover, some cities are mushrooming with population and are in dire need of building new living spaces, so local bodies and masses contend that a compact home is a solution to tackle space crunch. These downsides can be subdued by maintaining a ratio between huge and compact homes depending on the demand and living conditions of the city. For example, in India, majority of builders offer a range of homes from private villas to compact apartments and it is left on the discretion of the buyers to select a place meeting their needs and wishes. To conclude, the aforementioned thoughts depict that the positives of having private outdoor spaces clearly eclipse the negatives. I opine that societies should favour purchasing these homes for the environmental benefits and comforts these homes offer.