Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Haven’t we all been there? After watching some fancy commercial on tv, we went online and bought the advertised product without even knowing why we needed it. Although we might not pick up on it anymore, advertisements influence our buying behaviour more than we might believe it to. This essay will elaborate on why advertising will trick you into buying things that you do not actually need. First of all, the marketeers behind the product only have one goal: sell as many of their products as possible. It is not in their interest whether or not you actually need the item itself. For example, I recently purchased a juice press that I saw on an online advertorial where a happy couple used in to create the perfect Sunday morning. I envisioned myself using it to have the ultimate weekend experience. However, once I actually got to use it for the first time, it was not long till I realised using it took more effort than simply walking across the road to buy fresh juice at the grocery store. Secondly, it is only because of advertisements that we get to hear about new products and develop the wish of owning them. There are a limited number of items that one truly needs for his existence; all the others are in a sense unnecessary. Looking at my own apartment I can identify many items that I do not need for a comfortable life. If it wasn't for some ads, I would have never known about their existence and therefore would not have bought them. In conclusion, I believe that the motives that drive the creation of ads as well as the craving they invoke are reasons why advertising makes us buy things that we could go without.