Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Our needs as humans have changed over time, vehicles are no longer a status symbol but now a necessity. Consequently, and due to our teeming population, there are more and more petrol-run cars on our roads. This has led to our air being contaminated and also caused congestion problems. Some say that making fuel more expensive is the most ideal way to deal with said issues but I hold an opposing view. This essay will discuss my opinion and in addition to that, methods that may yield the desired effect. Firstly, I strongly disagree with the solution of a price hike, this is because it puts people in a dire economic situation. Due to how necessary it is to move around, they are forced to spend more than necessary on commuting. This leaves us with the initial problem we were trying to deal with and also creates a new one. Lawmakers should be in the business of making the lives of their constituents easier and more comfortable and not put them in situations that lead to more challenges. A better approach will be to improve the public transportation system across towns and cities. By improving this, residents have the choice of efficient, effective and particularly cheaper alternatives. A city with well organized public transport routes will see a higher number of people ditching their private cars. This automatically reduces road congestion issues as a bigger vehicle caters to a larger crowd. Another solution will be to produce more modes of transport that do not run on petrol. This option is a no-brainer because it gives us what we desire, we just need to get past how expensive such productions are. In conclusion, higher tariffs on fuel create more problems than it solves. It is a disservice to the people it affects particularly because there are other measures that can be taken to fix the challenges. Governments should establish more robust transport systems and also fund research that will lead to the making of water-run cars for example.