Some believe that it is the responsibility of people to take care of the environment. Others say it is the government that should take care of the environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

A few people opine that it is a duty of the general public to preserve the ecosystem, whereas others believe that the government ought to take the necessary steps to protect the environment. I intend to discuss both the views in the subsequent paragraphs followed by my own opinion. On the one hand, those who favour former notion assert that people must act to control the degradation of the environment because they are responsible for it in the first place. Apart from this, since conventional sources of energy create more pollution, they can easily give up these sources for renewable resources. Furthermore, it is generally seen that people especially in developing and underdeveloped countries do not bother to throw garbage, litter at any place without even thinking. This can only be avoided if people control their actions and bad habits. On the other hand, proponents of the latter view opine that government has the power to safeguard the environment. To explain, the government can enforce certain laws to control the various pollutions such as water pollution, air pollution and so on. For example, water pollution is generally spread by the industries by disposing of the waste materials in the rivers and canals. This can be halted by bringing strict policies against these miscreants by governing authorities as they have enough power to impose rules and regulations. In my perspective, governments can play a vital role in the conservation of the ecosystem as they have resources and budget. First of all, the government can invest in alternate resources of energy such as solar energy and tidal energy, which do not emit greenhouse gases. This can be done by providing subsidies to the people who spend on these new resources. In addition, the government can invest in the research and development of nuclear energy to replace fossil fuels to generate electricity. These steps can be taken by the active involvement of government only. To conclude, even though people are responsible for creating a mess of the environment, I still believe the ecosystem can be sustained efficiently if government act responsibly as they have money and power to manage it.