In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Issues related to online communication are frequently discussed these days. It is true that nowadays, meeting online is more comfortable than the face-to-face meeting in many companies. Despite the fact that online contacting has some drawbacks, I would argue that there are more benefits. The explanation will be shown in this essay. On the one hand, there are several demerits associated with online contacting. The principal is that people may not have the opportunity to engage in face-to-face activities with others which result in some mistakes. To explain, some conferences must share experienced ideas by showing real products. For instance, customers chatting with architecture firms have to decide building materials by touching the material’s textures. On the other hand, there are a variety of merits involved in meeting online. The main reason is that online systems allow people to communicate in a flexible way. This means that people can contact with others in any places where the internet can access. Moreover, the cost of a working day can be greatly increased in term of travelling and accommodation. For example, in Bangkok, workers having a conference in other workplaces have to take their times more than 2 hours due to traffic congestion. Another point is that owing to the pandemic over recent years, many companies find a solution to cope with the spread of the global pandemic. Thus, the online conversation is one of the possible ways to tackle this issue since workers would have less direct contacting in their places. A good example is that stop spreading of COVID-19 pandemic, the online meeting is the best choice for contacting people while they are living in each country. All things considered, It seems to me that the benefits of online communication significantly outweigh direct meeting. Therefore, working online should be supported by several companies and individuals.