Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While a number of individuals opine that imprisonment for long periods is the prime way of decreasing offences, others think vibrant actions will be more appropriate to do so. In my opinion, the rate of violence could be dropped by imposing proper laws and legislations considering some aspects instead of just imposing longer sentences; however, both views will be discussed. On the one hand, longer prison sentences will refrain the criminals to commit violence again. If offenders are kept in jail for the maximum time, they will not be able to associate them doing the same work. Besides, these wrongdoers can not create groups and inspire others to do mischiefs. Moreover, general people might refrain them to do these acts with the fear of receiving hard punishment afterwards. Consequently, the percentage of offences will get down. For example, in Bangladesh, the rape case drastically dropped after stating the life-time jail if accused person involvement is proved. Nevertheless, suitable steps regarding the violations will be impactful to minimize these acts. Not every crime is equally brutal and committed in the common situation; therefore, it would not be justified to put the same penalty for all these. Furthermore, if the common punishment, like lifetime imprisonment is given to all the criminals that will create chaos and unrest in the society rather reducing violence. Hence, it would be more effective to punish wrongdoers by taking certain things into the account, such as the circumstance, age of the criminal, stage of the blunder and so on. Considering background issues will not only aware people to retain them do crimes but also gradually decrease the percentage of this. In conclusion, humans have contrasting views whether the maximum imprisonment or other steps will be helpful for declining the rate of crimes. I believe, the different actions than a common-law will be more effective to do so.