Some people think governments should spend money on measures to save languages with few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the contemporary epoch, with the advent of technology and ubiquitous internet, people can communicate with anyone in the world at their fingertips. This has paved the way to an increasing number of population focusing on learning common languages which aid such conversations and local languages are dying out. The discussion vacillates between whether the government should intervene and promote local languages or focus on the other pressing issues at hand. I personally agree with the latter group and this essay will shed light on both the notions in the subsequent paragraphs. On one hand, the advocates of rescuing languages from extinction claim that languages are a powerful mechanism of expressing human emotions. For instance, history comprises of a plethora of examples in which linguistic diversity has been used to depict cultural variety and folklores from the stone age to present time. Moreover, these proponents believe that governments can support native speakers by raising awareness about the importance of mother tongue and promote these languages by ingraining these with the education system. Another school of thought categorically opines that the government should be responsible for dealing with daunting problems affecting the country and it is the duty of native speakers to protect their languages. For example, every country has its set of obstacles to tackle ranging from deficiencies in health care systems, pollution, corruption and so on, along with participating in resolving international matters viz. global warming, world peace, etc. Furthermore, governments are also responsible for maintaining the decorum of the nation and be the visionaries of the country's prosperity. Thus, it is plausible for governments to take a step back in promoting linguistic diversity. To conclude, I reiterate that preserving languages has significant importance for societies and masses should lead the initiative of promoting the native speakers with the support of private bodies whereas the government should aim to deal with aforementioned critical problems.