Nowadays, some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the age of information technology, many people believe that the internet can replace the need for museums and galleries since the historic objects and artistic works are available online. However, I completely disagree with the idea because the functionalities of these places are irreplaceable. Museums and galleries are not only the places to display their collections, but most importantly they are the organizations to store and preserve those artworks and antiques. Paintings, sculptures, and other artefacts require careful storage and delicate maintenance to prevent potential damage. To do this, museums and galleries need to hire lots of experts to conserve these invaluable but fragile objects. On the other hand, the internet is just a carrier of information dissemination. Without museums and galleries, the internet doesn't even have many objects to display. What’s more, the feeling of seeing real objects in museums or galleries is different from seeing digital format online. The first difference is that when people see the real objects, they can discover more details like the material, the texture, and the colour-changing under different shading, all of which present the audience with a better understanding of those objects. Also, the open and quiet space of museums and galleries creates a calm atmosphere for visitors to immerse themselves into the exhibition and to obtain more insights from the history and the art. On the contrary, people can be easily distracted while using the internet at home. In conclusion, due to the benefits that museums and galleries can offer, I believe that they are essential for both society and individuals and cannot be substituted.