In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customer travels to large shopping centre and mall to do shopping. Is it a positive or negative development?

Shopping is a popular activity nowadays, thus some people prefer to visit malls and big shopping centres, but sadly for the local shops they have to close as the interest for such places is considerably decreasing. I believe that this is a negative development and I will present reasons to support my opinion in this essay. To begin with, admittedly large shopping places offer a variety of choices in different areas such as clothing or electronics, but their prices are also higher comparing to the smaller places. The overpricing is a reflection of the area where the mall is placed, as well as the number of staff required on the floor to provide service for the customers. To take into consideration is also the fact that majority of the retail centres are placed mostly in the town centres where is a challenge to find parking space, therefore the cost of the parking ticket is another factor to be added to the final bill. However, individuals are taking this trips sometime just as a relaxing activity and enjoyment of the extended selection available to be purchased. To continue, although the local shops are not attractive from the variety point of view, they are useful for the people who are not able to travel. Therefore, their closure would direcly affect them. Moreover, this development is negatively impacting the financial status of the country, since more business are forced to close. There would be fewer taxpayers contributing towards the national improvement. Furthermore the unemployment rate would rise because of the low jobs available in the area. The disadvantages of the small businesses closing down would sadly impact the locals lives. In conclusion, although the shopping centres are attracting citizens by their variation of goods, I consider that the development has a negative impact for the local busineses business.