Some people say the main way to be happy in life is to have a lot of money. How might having a lot of money make people happy? What other things in life can make people happy?

Happiness is a persistent theme for humankind. Therefore, its persuit had inspired writers, artists, political and religious leaders. In a capitalist society, some people believe that money is a shortcut for a happy life and there are some reasons for this thought. One of the reasons why a person relies on financial resources to find delight is the access to relevant elements that sustain a secure life. For instance, they do not need to feel overwhelmed by costs of a private medical care and can invest in the best treatment in case of disease. Moreover, their health may be based on organic food and products of good quality, which usually are not affordable by most people. Another reason is the fullfilment of their material desires. Individuals that had suffered from poverty find great pleasure when capable of buying objects that represent social status and wealth. An example for that is how smartphone devices' prices keep increasing through time although sales might seem inaffected by it. Therefore, as advertisement continues to associate expensive objects to happiness and power, one will purchase them whenever it is possible and feel good about it. However, there are other sources of joy that are inadvertly priceless. Meaningful bonds, such as an affectionate family and friends, opportunities to delevop a carrer and a balanced mental health are examples of that. The subjective value of each one of them responds to an inner human persuit: to matter to others and to feel important. Otherwise, the absence of this sentiment usually equals to depression, isolation and unhappiness. In conclusion, an endless amount of money may buy the things that make us happy. Nonetheless, they might not be the main way since more happy people can be found than richy ones, and most of them had discovered fullfilment in the lack of possessions or wealth.