Some people believe that studying at university is the key to a successful life, while others think that nothing practical is gained by doing this. Discuss both ideas and give your opinion.

Whereas some individuals agree with the idea that a degree will help you to build a rich life, another group believes that Colleges are antiquated and, therefore, provide you with outdated skills. This essay disagrees with both ideas as it believes that a University degree is needed to start to build a professional career, however, it does not guarantee a successful life. To begin with, the idea that a professional career at a professional institution will provide a rich life is antiquated. This idea comes from the last century, where most people were working as industrial operators, farmers and so. Therefore, only a few exclusive groups of people have access to the University, and most of them did it great. This situation generated a symbolic idea that a degree is equal to a successful life. For instance, the grandfathers's and parents's idea in Argentina is that education post high school must be mandatory in order to build a successful path, as a result, they push their children to go to College and study a career. On the other side, we have a new generation of people who agree that actually, University is a waste of time, and they recommend to other people to do short courses based on practice. This idea came with the technology's advancement that allows the community to study online. For example, nowadays, research concluded that 50% of the new young-adult generation in America prefer to study online (especially short courses related to IT skills) than attend an institution for 4 or 6 years. This essay disagrees with both ideas. First of all is important to highlight that a professional career will not provide you with instant success. Nowadays competition is wild, being successful in a professional path depends exclusively on you, your skills and sometimes luck. On top of that, it agrees that University is crucial to building a strong networking, which is going to help you to go through your professional way more easily. In conclusion, this essay disagrees with the idea that University is equal to success, but also, with the concept that Colleges are outdated. After High-School education is the key to starting to build a successful professional path, however, is not the only one.