In my country, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Since the technology has been improved rapidly, it makes our life more convenient. Plastic, as one product derived from hi-tech, experiences growing popularity in the catering industry. From my perspective, I believe the benefits outweigh the drawbacks because human rely on its properties heavily and the main issue of using plastic can be resolved in the near future. On the one hand, the nature of plastic is overwhelmingly welcomed in our daily life. Anti-corrosion is the main property of this chemical substance. In another word, this function can guarantee the freshness and safety of foods, which is beneficial for people’s health. Alternatively, the price of plastic is considerably lower than its substitutes, as the polymerised material technology has been advanced to a high level than ever, leading to a benefit that all individuals can afford plastic containers. Therefore, even with so many environmental concerns, this kind of packaging still enjoys high popularity on the basis of everyday life. On the other hand, the anxiety of environmental threats caused by this synthetic material is absolutely unnecessary. That is because the main issue (non-biodegradable) of this kind of products could be deal with in the next few years. As the majority of chemical learners know, the key reason for its non-degradability is that the main chain of these compounds is made up of carbon atoms. However, several years ago, scientists attempted to add other atoms to the main chain of this polymer, which eventually can be successfully absorbed by the soil. Actually, some of the degradable plastic have been already invented and used by some catering firms in countries such as China. Thus, I hold an optimistic opinion that it is tangible and approachable to cope with the main problem in a long term. In conclusion, although the use of these synthetic materials harms the environment temporarily, I believe this problem will not be hung for a long time and numerous advantages can outweigh drawbacks completely.