A lot of young people do not know how to manage their money when graduating from high school. What do you think are the reasons? What can be done to teach them this important skill?

Every year many young students graduate high school without the necessary knowledge of personal expenses as they don’t know how to survive on a budget in the real world. Financial illiteracy is due to a lack of proper education as well as inadequate knowledge. However, this problem can be solved by introducing management and finance-related class in high school and proper parenting. The reasons why many youngsters do not know how to spend their money properly is due to the lack of both theoretical and practical knowledge on how to manage their own money. Likewise, some parents do not share financial responsibilities with their children. Take my cousin as an example, my uncle will buy everything that my cousin needed. In consequence, she doesn’t know how to manage her cash. However, financial education comprises lessons on how to spend efficiently and enable individual to make informed and useful decisions with all the financial resource. Furthermore, if schools introduce financial and management education then students can learn about making plans for savings, how to use a credit card and how to avoid debt. Similarly, parents can teach financial accountability. In addition, parents can also share some financial responsibilities. For example, my parents give me pocket money that is sufficient for a whole month and give me the freedom to make my own plan on expenditure and save some for the future. We should plan our budget as such that we should spend on what we can afford rather than accumulating debt. In conclusion, nowadays financial management is necessary more than ever. Schools should integrate financial management into their syllabus while parents should share some responsibilities with teenagers so that they can have both theoretical and practical knowledge on how to spend fund appropriately.