In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The percentage of older individuals is rising in many nations. While this is a beneficial phenomenon, there are some drawbacks. It leads us to be in touch with them and gain their life experiences. However, senior people's lack of new technological affairs interferes with their efforts for contemporary jobs. I will illustrate several reasons for this matter. Firstly, the older generation has a massive accumulation of knowledge and experience. Sharing their life experiences and memories can be educational and meaningful for younger generations. Moreover, older people feel more relaxed and less lonely when they interact with the new generations. For instance, my grandfather was a veteran from the Afghan-Soviet war. Sharing his memories helped him overcome the challenges that remained from war trauma. Secondly, despite the positive outcomes of an increasing number of older people, there are numerous adverse effects. Globalization and advancements in technology make it difficult for older generations to follow new technologies. Furthermore, they struggle to find employment due to their impediments with current technologies. For example, computer science is a trending job among adolescents for their future occupation. However, an older person may not even know how to use a computer properly. Thus, it is a serious problem for older people, who cannot sustain their ability to follow technological advancements. Their inefficiencies are unfavourable to both themselves and society. To combat this issue, the government plays a vital role. An institute that teaches older people about new technologies is needed and should be implemented by the government. In conclusion, although expanding the proportion of older individuals can contribute to spreading knowledge and experience that benefits young people, their difficulties in acquiring and keeping up with new technological developments can hinder their ability to secure jobs. I would recommend the construction of institutes dedicated to helping senior citizens with new technologies. This initiative could be successfully executed by the government.