You have visited the hill station recently. You were disturbed to see the plight of the green forest.

Trees are the important part of our environment. Landscape with trees will be more beautiful than without them but trees give us not only stunning scenery they also bring us a lot of benefits. First of all, trees absorb CO2, removing and storing the carbon while releasing oxygen back into the air. It means that without trees we cannot breathe fresh air. Trees help to stop the global warming by the absorbing CO2. Secondly, trees contribute to a rich healthy ecosystem. Animals, insects, birds, and fungi make their home in the trees and make a diverse ecosystem. This balanced environment, in turn, contributes to the betterment of human beings. Trees produce their own food that we call fruits. Thirdly trees receive the rainwater and hold them in the land. This prevents clean water from flowing and getting wasted in drains. Along with it they also act as watersheds and hold the floodwaters for some time before slowly releasing them into the earth and atmosphere. So, they maintain the water base. The root system of the trees is so well made by nature that it holds the soil underground from getting washed away during rain and floods thus prevents landslides and soil erosion. In conclusion humanity should understand that trees have a lot of importance in our lives, and it provides seamless service for the environment. People have somehow not protected them and perhaps that is why as on today we are being affected by global warming, severe pollution and other ill effects of deforestation. Trees should be treated and nurtured nicely so that human beings can survive on this planet. We should encourage others to plant more and more trees.