Nowadays more and more older people who are looking for work have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. what problem does the cause? what are possible solutions?

In recent times, older workers have had to deal with a surge in competition for jobs due to an increase in talented younger workers. This essay will discuss some issues associated with this competition and some actions that can be taken to help old people find and retain work in the job market. Being middle-aged or older has several disadvantages in terms of careers and employment. First of all, it is well known that old people tend to have less expertise in the skills needed for modern-day jobs. For example, young people are generally much more tech-savvy and have less difficulty learning skills that relate to information technology and the internet. Secondly, old people are at a physical disadvantage. The reality is that as people age they have less energy, meaning that young people are often able to be more productive than older people, and thus more attractive job candidates. However, there are ways that old people can make themselves more employable. Firstly, they can and should focus on improving their skills through private study and professional development. With hard work, there is no reason why old people cannot learn the knowledge and skills that their younger rivals possess. In terms of physical disadvantage, adopting a healthy lifestyle is a simple yet effective way to become as productive as young people. Even retirees can sometimes outperform young people if they are dedicated to exercise and a healthy diet. In conclusion, although old people do face challenges in the modern job market, with a commitment to working hard and a disciplined lifestyle, it is possible for older people to become more competitive when looking for work.