Open-plan offices offer a better working environment for staff than a normal office. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued whether open-plan offices provide a better working environments than normal offices. I somewhat disagree with such an idea because it affects negatively employees’ performances by distractions and also by the lack of privacy, even though the personal communication within the office is facilitated. The main reason why I do not agree that open-plan offices give a better professional environment is that the workers get distracted more easily and it certainly impacts their job. Since there are no walls between the work stations, individuals are able to see everything that is happening around them, such as a colleague wandering around to kill time or a client that has come to talk to their boss, so they have more difficulty to focus on their tasks and they either can not finish them or deliver poor results. Additionally, open-plan offices reduce the employees’ privacy and the working environment is more likely to become uncomfortable and less productive. It is natural that individuals do not want to have their flaws revealed, and these offices tend to give a feeling that they are being watched all the time, consequently, people tend to try not act naturally, afraid of being judged by others, and become extremely stressed. Therefore, one does not give their best professional performance. However, there are some benefits in open-plan offices. The main one is the eased exchange of information and ideas between colleagues in person instead of trough phones. This improves their relationships and will more likely boost their results. In conclusion, I reaffirm my opinion that I partially disagree that open-plan offices provide better professional environments because the several distractions available and reduced privacy for the individuals impact negatively the workers’ performances. Although, the communication between employees is facilitated.