Nowadays genetically modified food is widespread all over the world. While proponents of GM crops ensure that these foods are safe for human consumption and help to increase food supplies, others argue that their effects on health have not been studied long enough. Describe pros and cons of genetically modified foods.

Some people believe that genetically modified food is an agricultural innovation, while others think that biologically engineered organism can be harmful to human beings. While it is also true that there are a numerous number of people struggling with famine and starvation, my view is that an intake of GMO foods can possibly cause some negative effects on our bodies. On one hand, many proponents of GM food contend that genetic engineering is beneficial for mankind and can solve a lot of problems relating to food. To begin with, genetic engineering can help us find sustainable ways to feed people as a solution to food shortage. Some GM crops can grow in marginal environments and the longer shelf life of some GM foods allow them to be shipped to remote areas and some countries suffering from insufficient access to nutrient-rich foods. Apart from that, seeds are genetically changed for multiple reasons, which include improving resistance to insects and generating healthier crops. This can increase crops production and make agricultural produce better resistant to extreme growing conditions which will result in less environmental impact since a minimal amount of chemicals, machinery, and time are utilized. On the other hand, there is another opinion that intake of genetically engineered foods can bring catastrophic results for humans. First off, there are controversial safety issues with genetically manipulated products since they have not always tested exhaustively and there has not been enough time to research in order to ascertain all risks. Food allergies and certain types of cancer have been a growing problem in unpredictable ways ever since genetically altered foods were consumed which makes it safe to conclude that genetic modifications are harmful to the body. Another point worth mentioning is that there will be unforeseen environmental side-effects. Ecological damage can happen to the soil that supports transgenic crops over time and it will be unable to sustain life such as plants, trees, animals, and even human beings. Although bioengineered foods were developed to reduce the number of pesticides and herbicides used, bacteria and weed may develop resistance to those chemicals which will result to the utilization of much stronger pesticides that causes further damage to the environment. In conclusion, I understand that biologically engineered foods can be a solution for the food shortage, however, I still believe that there must be more studies to prove its safety.