Many retired people today are choosing to live in other countries. What are the advantages of disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, it is becoming more popular moving abroad after retirement. Therefore, this phenomenon arouses positive effects and drawbacks and this essay will discuss both points of view in the next paragraphs. Firstly, one of the benefits that could be related to living abroad after retirement is the possibility of choosing a country where the cost of living is more afordable than in your own country. For instance, due to the value of the dolar in comparison to other currencies, there are a numerous American citizens who decide to move to Mexico or Costa Rica in order to have a better standard of living. Secondly, in our modern society, people are extremely overwhelmed about their job responsibilities and, usually, find themselves waiting to their retirement to finally have proper time to connect and live different cultures. Nevertheless, when people decide to live abroad, they are running the risk of loosing their native identity, since cultural differences might choke their native behaviour. For instance, since 2010, my retired Brazilian uncle have been living in Canada. This change affected some natural behaviour that he used to have before such as living a life more dependant from family and friends. Furthermore, when you decide to move to a different country you might also have to deal with problems regarding adaptance acceptance, consequently, mental problems might awake due to the distance of family and friends. To summarize, the decision of moving to another country is very personal. Each of us has dreams, plans and fears that might affect our life decisions. Although moving abroad after retirement seems like a personal choice, it is possible to say that benefits and drawbacks can be related to that decision.