Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In an era characterized by captivating marketing campaigns, advertisement serves as an important milestone for brands. Some argue that advertising manages to increase sales incredibly, while others oppose this assertion as adverts can be seen everywhere and people ’s attention is not sufficient. This essay vehemently supports that advertising is successful in terms of its impact on consumers. To begin with, marketing adverts have enormous effects on people. Adverts ’ ability to make target customers believe in the necessity of a product is unbelievable, even if the potential customers do not need it at all. Therefore, they tend to purchase regardless of the price. To illustrate, two groups were investigated by researchers. The first group was exposed to adverts for a new expensive phone, but the second group was not. In the end, the rate of purchasing behaviour was 65% more in the first group. The result of this study provided an obvious indication of how advertising acts as a catalyst for persuading people to buy. On the other hand, some voices contend that the influence of advertising campaigns on individuals has decreased remarkably since there are an excessive number of adverts and people are no longer interested in them. It is true that humankind encounters adverts in every part of the world. On the contrary, the claim that people are not attracted is false. For example, an average person remembers about 5 brands or products even though she is exposed to 50 adverts in a day. Hence, the possibility of buying these 5 products that are marketed goes up unconsciously, meaning that advertising is still captivating. To sum up, although there are some opposing ideas that refer to the abundance of adverts and people ’s low interest, advertising is very successful in pushing people towards purchasing products. I believe that adverts ’ success will maintain in the future.