Some people believe that it is better to spend more money to eliminate the cause of crime, while others think that government should spend more on punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

A few people opine that in order to reduce criminal activities in the society, the government ought to invest in the cause of the same, whereas others endorse the idea of increasing budget on the punishment. I intend to discuss both the views in the subsequent paragraphs followed by my own opinion. On the one hand, those who favour the latter view believe that government must invest in building more infrastructure on prisons and courts for punishing the culprits. To explain, due to the lack of these infrastructures, the alleged persons often roam freely more time before any actions by the law enforcers. This lenient approach does not hold back the culprits from performing more crimes. For example, in many developing countries with more population like India, due to a shortage of courts, an average criminal spends more than three months for the final verdict. This situation can be avoided if the government spends more on increasing courts. On the other hand, proponents of the former view assert that governing authorities should enhance his efforts towards diminishing the causes of crime such as unemployment among youth. It is generally seen that youngsters, in the absence of any job, often get resorted to illegal activities such as robbery and thefts for the sake of their livelihood. However, this situation can be prevented in the first place by creating enough employment opportunities through investment in developing industries. To illustrate, the rate of lawlessness is less in developed nations such as Norway and Finland as compared to the underdeveloped nation because of the higher employment rate. It clearly depicts that the frequency of crimes depends upon the unemployment in the country. In my perspective, the government should be more focused on determining the origin of crimes because it is a more effective way to tackle rising crime. To elaborate, building infrastructure can only serve the purpose of punishing the offender, but fail to resolve its reason for inception. On the contrary, finding the root cause can be more effective. For example, one of the reasons for surging crime is drugs in society. If it is tackled efficiently, a number of illegal activities can be reduced. Thus, more investment is required in eliminating the causes of criminal activities. To conclude, even though more prisons and courts can create some fear among the lawbreakers, yet I believe that investing on erasing the cause is more conducive as nations with proper employment and fewer drugs have fewer crimes.