Some people think that governments must insist on preserving traditional appearance of old buildings undergoing renovation or redevelopment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

When it comes to the renovation of old buildings there is a debate on whether or not the appearance should be preserved. While some people argue that those constructions should be completely redesigned, others believe it is better to preserve the traditional appearance. This essay will present arguments to explain why I support the latter opinion. To begin with, the majority of those buildings were constructed when the cities started to develop. That being said, those buildings carry a lot of history and memories, which is reflected by their appearance. For example, many old buildings in Toronto, the largest city of Canada, are being renovated, and the engineers are maintaining the same appearance because the citizens consider as part of the history and, therefore, the appearance should remain the same. Furthermore, many of those constructions are tourist attractions and receive visitors from different parts of the world. If the government change how it looks like, visitors will not be interested in visiting anymore. To illustrate, Notre Dame Cathedral is passing through reconstruction after the great fire which destroyed completely this well-known place. However, the priority of the government and engineers was to rebuild this cathedral exactly in the same way it was before the fire. This is because they understand that appearance is extremely essential to keep receiving those travellers. To sum up, the appearance of old architectures should be preserved because not only they carry memories and histories but also because they are a place where many tourists want to visit. I hope the government keeps the appearance of old constructions after a redevelopment.