Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some citizens think that culprits who commit less serious criminal activities should be forced to do some volunteer task for neighbourhood instead of sending them into the prison. I completely accord with the statement that free community job would be beneficial for the authority. In addition, engaged criminals will also get a chance of rehabilitation. In this essay, I will discuss both the views with appropriate examples. To begin with, one of the most effective as well as a beneficial form of punishment for the offenders is to make them woor society without any compensation. Additionally, it is impactful both for the government and society. Community services such as garbage picking, snow removing from walkways and roads painting are always considered as a financial burden for the government. Hence more, it is always considered as a good substitute if it would be done by the culprits of minor crimes. For instance, many western countries offers community works of several weeks in such small offences like burglary and chain-snatching. Overall, free work for local society could be a better form of punishment for mild offences. Furthermore, culprits of minor criminal offences could get a chance of rehabilitation. Also, they will understand the importance of laws after helping community and they are higher possibilities that they will become law-abiding citizens of the nation. Eventually, They will not commit any kind of crime in future if they would realize their duties towards community. In general, this most significant form to get criminals of smaller crimes back into society. To recapitulate, I fully agree the statement that criminals who take part in mild offences should be forced to perform volunteer community work such as trash picking and painting the community centre as a part of the punishment. In future, with this kind of treatment, the government will save some of their financial budget's cost.