Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is often seen that many criminals indulge in greater illegal activities after completing their first sentence. This may occur due to several reasons like adopting inefficient methods to rectify the guilty’s behaviour. The key to addressing this issue lies in taking an in-depth approach to understanding the person’s psyche and purpose behind committing the offence. A wrong behaviour rectification strategy can change a person’s mind for worse by soaking him with the feeling of anger and revenge. For example, a harsher treatment for a minor crime can motivate the person to repeat his misdeed. Similarly, short term sentences for committing a major crime may not affect the person at all. Furthermore, there may be a human need involved in the act of crime which cannot be addressed by just sentencing the guilty because they don’t know how to satisfy that particular need. In all such cases, a more intrinsic approach can deter people from repeating their wrong behaviour and respecting the legal limits. That is to say, if the form of discipline taken is based on the root cause or purpose of doing the illegal work, it is more likely that it will bring a change in their mind with a positive outcome. Community rehabilitation centres are a great way to ensure that the wrongdoer is mentally and emotionally fit to get back to his normal life. In conclusion, there are many kinds of legal violations and factors that lead people to commit them. Therefore, it is extremely important to pay attention to what kind of mistake or blame a person is being held responsible for and then take appropriate corrective action.